Login | Sign up

CSS scientific and service awards unveiled at ECCS14

The CSS is presenting for the first time this year a number of awards that recognize the outstanding scientific contributions and service by members of the society.

In order to recognize exceptional contributions to the science of complex systems the society has established the senior scientific award that recognize outstanding contributions of CSS members at whatever stage of their careers, and the junior scientific award aimed at recognizing extraordinary scientific achievements by CSS young researchers (within 7 years of PhD completion). The society is also awarding special service awards to members of the society for their efforts in promoting complex systems science and the CSS society nationally and internationally.

In a packed plenary session at ECCS14 in Lucca, Prof. Eugene Stanley has been honored with the senior scientific award. Prof. Stanley is arguably one of the pioneers —if not the pioneer— of research in complex systems, having made profound contributions to this subject even before the field was named as such. His many and varied contributions over several decades span many different fields of science, most notably Statistical Physics, Complex Liquids, Complex Biological Systems and Techno-social and Economical Systems.

The junior scientific award winners are Prof. Filippo Radicchi and Dr. Giovanna Miritello. Prof. Radicchi is part of the new generation of scientists that are making significant contributions to the subject of complex systems and networks. He is among the best young researchers in this area with contributions that span from theoretical studies of structural and dynamical properties of networks, to analyses of large-scale empirical data about human behavior and performance. Dr. Miritello’s work lies within the emerging interdisciplinary area known as Computational Social Science, in which big data sources and complex systems tools are combined to understand human behavior. Her work is truly interdisciplinary, putting together physics, network science, computer science, psychology and social sciences. She is also among the few persons bridging the gap between research and industry.

The recipients of the service award are Prof. Albert Diaz-Guilera, organizer of the successful ECCS13 in Barcelona; David Chavalarias, former vice president secretary of the CSS; Mina Teicher, former vice president treasurer and among the founders of the CSS. A special Society award has been given to Dr. Ralph Dum for his work in promoting the Science of Complex Systems in Europe through his role in the FET EC program.

Recover your password

Please, provide the email you used to register. We will send an email to that address with a link that will take you to the reset password page. After resetting your password you will be automatically logged in to the system.

Already a member?

If you had an account on the old website, please provide the email you used to register there. After resetting your password you will be automatically signed in to the system.

Already have an account? Log in