Login | Sign up

Emergence - Second International TRANSIT workshop on Cross-disciplinary Research

Emergence - Second International TRANSIT workshop on Cross-disciplinary Research

27-28 March 2019, 

Ron Cooke Hub, University of York, Heslington, YO10 5GE UK

Keynote speakers:

Professor Yasmin Merali, University of Hull

others TBC

The Second International TRANSIT workshop on Cross-disciplinary Research (TWCR 2019) will be held in York, UK, 27-28 March 2019. It is hosted by the York Cross-disciplinary Centre for Systems Analysis and the University of York.

Emergence is a term used to describe system-level collective properties and behaviours that cannot be reduced to specific properties of their individual components. From Aristotle’s “the whole is something besides the parts” to Anderson’s “More is different”, emergence captures the existence of an overall unity separate from its constituents. Emergence is a broad concept, occurring across systems comprising physical, technological, neural, biological, or social components. From physics to philosophy, from biology to art, from engineering to neuroscience, emergent properties abound, yet there remains little agreement on a formal definition of emergence, ways to analyse it, or ways to achieve it.

TWCR 2019 will explore the cross-disciplinary theme of Emergence, seeking to bring together ideas, approaches, concepts, and perspectives from natural biological systems and other physical systems, from engineered physical and virtual systems, and from human social systems.  

The aim of the workshop is to bring together researchers from all these connected fields, to engage across the disciplines, to inform of latest findings, to transfer discoveries and concepts from one field to another, and to inspire new ideas and new collaborations across the theme.

The TWCR programme committee invite you to submit a one page abstract (by 13 January 2019) in any area of emergence related to the call theme. A collection of submissions covering the range of the theme will be selected for presentation (by short talk, or by poster) at the workshop. Submission is via the Easy Chair system.

Programme Committee:

  • Susan Stepney
  • Richard Bingham
  • Leo Caves
  • Pierre-Philippe Dechant
  • Dan Franks
  • Philip Garnett
  • Richard Law
  • Simon O’Keefe
  • Angelika Sebald
  • Reidun Twarock

Starts on27/03/2019
Ends on28/03/2019
Submission deadline12/01/2019 23:00

Recover your password

Please, provide the email you used to register. We will send an email to that address with a link that will take you to the reset password page. After resetting your password you will be automatically logged in to the system.

Already a member?

If you had an account on the old website, please provide the email you used to register there. After resetting your password you will be automatically signed in to the system.

Already have an account? Log in